ASURA Board Minutes - December 10, 2008

Board Members Present: Mathew Betz, Ted Cary, Bob Francis, Elmer Gooding, Joyce Hartman Diaz, Doug Johnson, Maxine LaRoux, Val Peterson, Mary Stevens

Absent: Robert Barnhill, Zeke Prust, Robert Rankin

Committee Chairs: Sue Blumer, Alan Johnson, Connie McNeill, David Scheatzle, Linda Van Scoy

Absent: Joan Leard, Lois Lehman, Dick Murra, Lou Weschler

Guests: Bill Stasi

I.  Call to Order:  Val Peterson called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m. The President reported that the December 2 Christmas party was well-attended. He also explained that the agenda for today was revised and limited to prioritize critical issues for discussion and action.

II.  Minutes:  The November 12, 2008 Board minutes were approved as written.

III.  Old Business:

Travel Scholarship:  The ASU Travel Scholarship proposal presented by Mat Betz was distributed. He explained that it would be open to undergraduate and graduate students for travel to any geographic area of the world.

Motion:  After discussion a motion was made and passed to table further discussion, pending additional information from Mat Betz.

ASURA Lobbyists:  Based on a discussion at the November 2008 ASURA Board meeting regarding lobbyists, the following motion was made and approved. This information will appear on the Board's Home Page.

Motion:  The ASURA Board will formally authorize the actions of the designated lobbyists made on behalf of ASURA and carried out in accordance with the Bylaws of the Association. Jerry Aronson will be approved as the designated lobbyist for ASURA and Alan Johnson, Bob Mings and Rose Minetti will be approved as the authorized lobbyists.

Proposed 2008-09 Budget:  As per previous discussion, a budget was presented for the 2008-09 year. The Board voted unanimously to accept the proposed 2008-09 budget.

III.  New Business:

Board Elections:  The Nominating Committee members are: Doug Johnson, Chair; Connie McNeill; Elmer Gooding; Maxine LaRoux with one more to be named. Five new Board members will be voted upon in January and will attend the March Board meeting.

Bylaws Changes:  Mary Stevens distributed a memorandum from the ASURA Bylaws Committee regarding proposed revisions dated November 20, 2008. Various changes (signature authority, sponsorship of charitable, service, and other programs) were discussed. Due to the lateness of the hour a special meeting was scheduled for Wednesday, January 7, 2009 to continue discussion of the Bylaws changes and to finalize them prior to submission to the membership for a vote.

IV.  Other Reports:  Linda Van Scoy submitted a committee report on the Living History Video Project.

Adjournment:  The meeting adjourned at 12:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted:

Maxine LaRoux